|  
Building and Safety

Department of Building and Safety Engineering
Leo Snage Public Services Building
12200 Beech Daly
Redford, MI 48239
Point-to-Point Driving Directions
building@redfordtwp.com

Lobby Hours:
Monday thru Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Please call 313-387-2680 to speak with the following inspectors:

Building Superintendent
Jeff Corbin
​​​​​​​jcorbin@redfordtwp.com

Chief Building Inspector/Ordinance
Roy Hibbs
rhibbs@redfordtwp.com

Building Inspector/Ordinance
Bruce Marsalese
bmarsalese@redfordtwp.com

Building Inspector/Ordinance
Mike Williams
mwilliams@redfordtwp.com

Plumbing Inspector/Ordinance
Tim Socha
tims@redfordtwp.com

Electrical Inspector/Ordinance
Jeff Corbin
jcorbin@redfordtwp.com

Mechanical Inspector
William Miller
building@redfordtwp.com

Ordinance Officer
Matt Kaczor
mattk@redfordtwp.com

Ordinance Officer
Michele Glenn
mglenn@redfordtwp.com

Animal Control Officer
Roxanne Polovich
rpolovich@redfordtwp.com

Appointments with the inspectors may be scheduled by calling 313-387-2680.  Inspectors are in the office between 8:30-9:30 a.m. and 3:30-4:30 p.m.

After Hours Emergencies
Contact the Police Department
313-387-2551

Please Note: Because of the technical nature of many questions related to the building codes, it is virtually impossible to adequately answer questions through email. As a result of the technical nature of the department, all E-mail sent to this department must be limited to comments only. The department will not respond via e-mail to any questions which require a technical answer. All questions requiring a technical answer must be addressed directly to the inspector in person,  in writing or via the telephone.

Building & Safety

The Redford Township Department of Building and Safety Engineering is assigned the duty of monitoring new and construction which involves renovation of existing buildings within the township. It also is responsible for the sidewalk rehabilitation program, the rental unit inspection program and the enforcement of township ordinances.

CODE Enforcement - What is a Violation?

Permits/Applications

 

The Home Renovator

The Home Renovator is an online estimating software which has been designed for the Do-It-Yourselfer. Simply enter your project details and you will receive a complete report of the materials required, cutting instructions, recommended tools, cost estimates and more... click here.

About the Building and Safety Department

The Building and Safety Engineering Department is responsible for:

    Issuing building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permits
    Performing required inspections
    Investigating violations of Township ordinances and blight complaints
    The sidewalk replacement program
    The rental home registration and inspection program

The staffing for this department includes 1 superintendent/plan reviewer, 3 full-time building/ordinance inspectors, 2 full-time ordinance officers, 1 electrical inspector, 1 plumbing inspector, 1mechanical inspector, 3 full-time clerical staff.